EVO All Evo Model Discussion

My ‘85 Wide Glide Rebuild (1985 FXWG)

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2022, 08:08 AM
Cam01
Advanced
Received 65 Likes on 25 Posts
Default My ‘85 Wide Glide Rebuild (1985 FXWG)

Hey guys,

I am new to joining and posting in this forum but have come upon various threads of rebuilds on this and other forums throughout the years and always thoroughly enjoyed reading them. I figured I’d repay some of the entertainment and knowledge I got from them by creating my own. I hope you enjoy.

I'm definitely no expert and I’m sure there will be some mistakes along the way, feel free to let me know if you have some advice or information that will be helpful, I’m always happy to hear that kind of stuff.

I didn’t plan on doing a total rebuild, but things kind of snowballed on me as more and more issues were revealed until I decided ‘to hell with it’ and went down the dangerous path that either ends in a rebuilt bike or a discounted basket case for sale.

- THE BACKSTORY:

I bought a 1985 FXWG from my neighbor about six months ago or so. He’d owned it for a lot of years and bought it from the original owner back in the early 90’s. He rode the heck out of it for a while, then as he and the wife got older it just sat. It was giving him a hard time getting started and he thought it was a dead battery, dirty carb, and needing a tuneup.

He probably circled the neighborhood with it twice in the past five years since I’ve lived here so I knew it HAD been a reliable running bike but had just not been ridden, and he handed over a stack of maintenance and repair receipts with it. I was pretty pumped.

He had it repainted many years ago by someone who did a kind of cool red metal flake job with ghost flames. It is pretty rad but is showing a good amount of its age, bubbling around the filler necks and some chips and nicks. Not a priority but I think a repaint is in the future.